FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
HOW OLD DO I NEED TO BE START DRIVER'S EDUCATION?
Students must be at least 15 yrs and 9 months to start Driver's Education Classroom Sessions.
We have many students that realize the benefit of the FULL Massachusetts RMV Driver's Ed course, therefore classroom students typically range from 15.9yrs well into their college years.
Insurance companies generally offer a discount on yearly premiums for everyone that has successfully completed a Driver's Education course
DO I NEED MY LEARNER'S PERMIT TO START DRIVER'S EDUCATION?
No. In accordance with Massachusetts Law, you may begin the CLASSROOM portion of driver's education at age 15 years and 9 months. At age 16, you may apply for and take the learner's permit test ($30 fee at the RMV). Once you have your permit, you can then begin on-road lessons.
WHAT'S INCLUDED IN THE FULL COURSE?
In accordance with Massachusetts RMV regulations, the curriculum includes 30 hours of classroom instruction, 12 hours of on-road instruction, 6 hours of observation time and a 2 hour Mandatory RMV Parent Class so we can explain what each parents obligation is in helping us, help them, to teach their children to drive properly, safely and legally!
HOW MUCH DOES THE FULL DRIVING SCHOOL COURSE COST?
The full RMV course tuition is $745. A $375 deposit is required at the time of registration to secure your spot in the class. The remaining $370 balance is due by the end of week 4. All payments are non-refundable.
HOW DO I REGISTER MY SON/DAUGTHER FOR DRIVER'S EDUCATION CLASSES?
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic all classes are currently being held online via Zoom through September 6, 2022. The October Driver's Ed course will return to in-person at the driving school.
To register for the upcoming online class, please either complete the online registration form or download and complete the printable version of the form. If you prefer to use the printable version, you can either drop off the completed form in the mailbox at the driving school along with your deposit or you can email the completed form to MetroDrivingSchoolWinthrop@gmail.com and Venmo the payment or drop it at the office.
ARE PARENTS/GUARDIANS REQUIRED TO TAKE A CLASS?
YES, In accordance with RMV regulations, parents/guardians must attend a mandatory parents class. This is typically the first week of each new session. Parents who have completed the mandatory parents class within the last 5 years do not have to take it again.
Parents/Guardian will receive a Certificate of Completions after taking the Parent Class
HOW LONG DO I HAVE TO COMPLETE THE COURSE & DRIVER'S ED REQUIREMENTS?
Students have ONE year from their Driver's Ed start date to complete all RMV Driver's Education requirements. After one year you may be subject to additional fees to complete the course.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I MISS A CLASS?
Students who miss a classroom session must make up the exact RMV module number that was missed for the course to be considered complete. Students have ONE year if needed to complete the course.
HOW DO I SCHEDULE MY ROAD LESSONS?
For students enrolled in the full driver's education course, you will receive instructions on how to schedule road lessons once classroom sessions begin. You must have your Learners Permit to begin on the road driving lessons.
Adult students should contact Metro Driving School at MetroDrivingSchoolWinthrop@gmail.com or by phone at 617-846-7266.
IS THERE A FEE IF I NEED TO CANCEL MY ROAD LESSON?
There is no fee if you provide at least 24 hours notice.
If you miss, cancel, or postpone a lesson with less than 24 hours notice from your scheduled lesson time, there is a $45 fee.
WHERE ARE STUDENTS PICKED UP FOR THEIR ROAD LESSON?
Typically, students meet at Metro Driving School for their road lessons, after your driving lesson you will usually do your observation time with the next student who will then drive you home.
During the school year, there may be times when student's are picked up at the high school.
Your driving instructor will let you know the pickup location when scheduling your lesson.
WHEN CAN I GET MY LICENSE?
According to Massachusetts law, students who are between 16 1/2 and 18 years old can apply for their JOL driver's license test once they've had their permit for 6 months and have successfully completed a driver's education class. Most students use the driving school car for their road and the school will schedule your test for you, sponsor you for the test and give you a refresher lesson on the way to the testing station and them bring you back. There is a separate fee for this service, which is not part of the tuition cost and is based on which RMV testing station your road test is scheduled for.
I'M ENROLLED IN THE FULL RMV COURSE, HOW DO I SCHEDULE MY ROAD TEST?
Once you have completed your driver's education requirements, your road test will be scheduled by the driving school as your sponsor for your road test with the RMV. There is a separate fee for the use of the driving school car and for the driving school to sponsor you on your road test based on which RMV testing station your road test is scheduled for. A brush up lesson is given on the way to your road test.
I'M AN ADULT STUDENT, HOW DO I SCHEDULE MY ROAD TEST?
Most adult students contact the driving school first so we can give you the on the road lessons needed to ensure you will be a good safe driver and that you are ready for your road test. Once you are ready, the driving school can schedule the road test for you. Driving lessons require that you have a valid Massachusetts Learners Permit. Local adult lessons are $50 each and the fee for sponsoring you for your road test and use of the vehicle is based on which RMV testing station your road test is scheduled for.
I'M AN ADULT AND HAVE SCHEDULED MY ROAD TEST WITH THE RMV, CAN I USE THE DRIVING SCHOOL CAR TO TAKE MY ROAD TEST?
To be able to use the driving school car for your road test, you must first take at least one lesson with Metro Driving School. After your initial lesson, your instructor will work with you to determine if additional lessons are needed to ensure that you are ready to take your road test and that you are a good safe driver well after your road test. Depending on your readiness, you may need to postpone the test you scheduled. The RMV requires at least 72 hours notice or they will charge you a fee.
Local adult lessons are $50 and the fee for sponsoring you and use of the vehicle is based on which RMV testing station your road test is scheduled for.
We do not just rent out the car for you to take the road test.